My Song

A song that encompasses me is ” Dream On” by Aerosmith. This song emulates me because it is an inspiring song that feels almost as if the song is talking to me.

In the first verse, the main singer, Steven Tyler, states whenever he looks in the mirror, he notices how old he is becoming. He realizes that time went by fast and wonders how it passed so quickly by using this metaphor, ” you got to how to lose to know how to win.”

In verse two, Tyler references verse one by using his own life experience stating that mainly his life was written in books due to the fact that he is a popular singer and has learned in his life from people and from sages.

Finally, Tyler creates a continuous chorus saying,” Sing it with me sing for the year sing for the laughter sing for the tear. Sing it with me just for today maybe tomorrow the good lord will take you away.” Here, Tyler is specifying his optimism from his sorrow. By doing this, he sings for both letting the pain out and forgetting the pain. When Tyler states the ” Good Lord,” he is saying that if he were to go to heaven, he will be freed from the woes he has been through on Earth. Alternatively, Tyler is also telling his fans to have fun today because we do not know whether you are this leaving this Earth tomorrow.

Overall, the song “Dream On” by Aerosmith is my song.

 

0 comments